Baseball, I am ready for you.


Picking up a new sport isn’t easy. I think I over estimated my sports knowledge. Just because I know football like I played for years, doesn’t mean I am savvy in other sports. And I quickly found that out. I also learned that you really need to have a team to cheer for before any sport becomes exciting.

That’s where we left off. You were helping me decide who is the best team for moi to follow. Thanks to your great advice, I finally chose a team that I thought was worthy of my “fanship”. My top three choices were the Milwaukee Brewers, the St. Louis Cardinals and the Minnesota Twins. I received a lot of pull toward the Brew Crew and the Twins. I guess most of my friends and tweeps are fans of those two teams. After careful consideration, I picked. And ordered my new baseball apparel.

Yesterday, the package finally arrived! I was so EXCITED. Dancing around my apartment, checking online to see what game I should go to, texting my friends telling them IT arrived. It was a ridiculous five minutes. So I guess this is the moment you all have waited for…

Hi, I’m Amanda. The newest fan of the…

 

 

 

Twins, baby!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MINNESOTA TWINS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

So proud.

And half of you stop reading, purely disgusted with my choice. The other half, well, I’m going to tell you how I came to my decision.

If you remember from my earlier post, I wanted a team that: 1. I can respect (fans, organization, players), 2. Can compete with other top teams, and 3. I will make it to at least one game a season. Not everyone took my points into consideration. I had a lot of people telling me to stick to my Wisconsin roots. Or they tried to play off my weaknesses. Example: Aaron Rodgers is friends with Ryan Braun. Yes, I love Aaron Rodgers and the Packers, but I am trying to follow baseball and take a break from my obsession with the greatest NFL team known to mankind.

But this is what it came down to.

1. The Fans. Every Twins fan I talked to was open to my decision about becoming a baseball fan. They went in-depth to describe the type of team the Twins are and how they build their talent. They are compelled by the beauty and strategy of the game, not just the atmosphere of attending the game. That is something I can relate to and respect. Most of them didn’t even criticize my other choices, they just proved their team was the best.

2. The Team. I like the Twins for the way they run business. Grow their own talent, they don’t buyout players to secure an awesome season and they definitely give their fans something to watch. Dominating the central division for the past decade is quite impressive, and I look forward to more wins.

3. A friend’s advice. Some words from my wise, White-Sox-loving friend, “As much as it pains me to say this, as I hate the Twins more than the Cubs, I think Amanda would probably enjoy rooting for the Twins the most. They have a similar mentality to the Packers, they always contend, and it would be convenient for her to get to the games.” Thank you Marilyn.

Thanks to everyone who helped me decide who to cheer for! Go TWINS!

I am ready for baseball.

About Amanda Lawson

A young marketing/business professional. Social Media guru. Sports fanatic. Lover of wine and beer. Cheesehead (both the Team and the food). View all posts by Amanda Lawson

5 responses to “Baseball, I am ready for you.

  • Marilyn

    “3. A friend’s advice. Some words from my wise, White-Sox-loving friend, “As much as it pains me to say this, as I hate the Twins more than the Cubs, I think Amanda would probably enjoy rooting for the Twins the most. They have a similar mentality to the Packers, they always contend, and it would be convenient for her to get to the games.” Thank you Marilyn.”

    aww this made me smile a lot… I’m glad I influenced your decision…. I hope your team blows this year.

  • Amanda Lawson

    Marilyn,

    I hope your team sucks as well.

    🙂

  • trish lawson

    Nicely written and researched….hope you can stay awake now that you have some one to root for. Let me know if that works….to me it is all one big snooze. Although Grandma Flo did live for a cubs game……

    • Amanda Lawson

      I will let you know if it helps! It’s never gonna replace football but hopefully it will keep me entertained.

  • bkb

    It’s all about being entertained. I used to think that my mom watched sports to support us children or to have something to do when my dad was watching it. Then, I saw her really get into the College World Series on television. That event is local to me for baseball. In the past couple of years, my dad has taught her a lot about tennis. He used to play in leagues and at one time with her. Now there are some players that she loves to watch. I think learning the nuances makes the games more fun. Plus, there is that sense of belonging you get with the team. One of my friends is a huge Giant’s fan and because of that I root for that team more. I will root for the Twins more now too. 🙂

Leave a comment