Grillin’ for a Cause with Craig True Value


Last weekend, my mom and I participated in a grilling contest. Craig True Value, in Darlington, WI, hosted the first ever “Grillin’ for a Cause” grilling contest during Canoefest. We created a delicious little taste of Jamaica, Jerk Shrimp Skewers served with grilled pineapple, onion and green pepper!

From brisket to shrimp, wild turkey and more, there was plenty to feast on. Taste testers (aka the voters) could pay $5 to sample each participants entry. All proceeds were donated to the Veteran’s memorial fundraiser. Take a look at how the event went below!

Here’s a look at our appetizing shrimp skewers!

Oh yeah, I am a professional griller!

My mom calls out the “schmoozers”. If they like our entry, they like our entry!

They are thoroughly enjoying our satisfying jerk shrimp!

Best bacon EVER!

Looking good!

Lucky Acres definitely gets first place for presentation!

CRAP! Our coals went out!!! Ok, ok, ok…so maybe we’re not professionals. But admit it, we had you fooled.

Everyone who participated in the contest!

Congrats to Tom! Your wild turkey, pork and beef roast amazed the crowd!

I think everyone had a great time. Craig True Value had an excellent turn out, raising $1,100. I can’t wait for next year.

About Amanda Lawson

A young marketing/business professional. Social Media guru. Sports fanatic. Lover of wine and beer. Cheesehead (both the Team and the food). View all posts by Amanda Lawson

3 responses to “Grillin’ for a Cause with Craig True Value

  • Joslyn

    This is a comment to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your site: http://voxseo.com/traffic/ They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  • Kill Shot hack ifunbox

    Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice
    written and include almost all vital infos. I
    would like to see more posts like this .

  • Memorial service advice

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed
    reading it, you are a great author.I will be sure to
    bookmark your blog and will often come back later on. I want to encourage that
    you continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

Leave a comment